Skip to content

Pinterest Challenge: Christmas Chandelier

November 29, 2011

**So, I took a bit of a break from blogging for a while.  Life got crazy.  Grad classes got difficult and time consuming.  I am sure it was heart breaking for you all to be without me for so long, but I’m back now and hope to keep up a more regular posting schedule.**

Seeing as this is our first Christmas in our new place, I have been trying to find some inexpensive projects to pump up our Christmas decor.  So, of course, I turned to Pinterest and decided to do my own version of Young House Love’s Pinterest Challenge.

I pinned this beautiful ornament chandelier and thought I could try something similar in our apartment.

Isn’t that just so elegant?

Of course, the one hang up is that we don’t have a chandelier.  We have a ceiling fan. With a light.

Undeterred, I decided to try to make it work.  With some suggestions from my crafy mother-in-law (along with a generous donation of some crafty supplies), I set to work.

Supplies:

  • Metal ring/frame (I believe I used some sort of gardening thing to hold up top heavy plants)
  • Ornaments of various sizes
  • Clear string
  • Christmas themed ribbon
  • Glass of wine (makes the tying of ornaments easier)

My first task was to find a way to hang my metal frame at an easy height for me to reach to be able to tie on the ornaments.  Enter my crazy pull up bar hanging system (at least the pull up bar is getting some use for once!):

I started with the large ornaments, hanging them up close to the top of the frame.  Then I used the medium size to create a lower layer and fill in the spaces close to the top.  Finally, I used the small size to fill in all the gaps.

Then I had to do some major trimming of all of that excess clear thread since it was hanging everywhere (as you can see in these pictures).  You can’t see it nearly as much in person, though.

Once I had everything where I wanted it, I then had to figure out how the heck to get it hung up on the ceiling fan.  There was much trial and error.  And sighing.  And drinking of wine.  I should have waited until I had a second person to help me hang it, and much cursing could have been avoided.  But D was asleep already and I am not patient.

Finally, I settled on using a small piece of Christmas ribbon on each fan blade and tying it to the metal frame.  This helps keep it stable and even.

I’m not sure if I am 100% satisfied with the final product.  There might still need to be some major tweaking.  The ceiling fan, since it’s an ugly ceiling fan instead of an elegant chandelier, doesn’t lend itself to that pretty “grape cluster” look from my inspiration picture.  I think I’ll live with it for a few days, get D’s reaction on it (my prediction for his effusive praise: “No. Uh. It’s nice.”), and see.  Let me know what you think and if you have suggestions.

The view from the living room:

Are you working on any fun holiday projects?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 29, 2011 7:06 pm

    I pinned this on Pinterest also! I loved the look of it! We do have a chandelier, but our has crystals already and feared it would look “gaudy” or over done. I like your creative take on it and def laughed a lot while reading- wine never helps projects like this! LOL

    • November 29, 2011 10:41 pm

      Thanks, Tiffany! I can see having crystals on the chandelier being an issue and competing with the ornaments, but you never know until you try. I think we have decided that our chandelier needs some major tweaking before we are both happy with it, but we can’t quite figure out what we’re going to do yet. It is just drawing too much attention to (but not hiding) what it an ugly ceiling fan.

  2. November 30, 2011 8:27 pm

    “Uh. It’s nice” – hahaha! M usually goes with an overly enthusiastic “It looks great, baby!” Good answer, but I still know he doesn’t actually care, lol.

    • November 30, 2011 8:31 pm

      Also I meant to say – I like it!! If you’re not crazy about it, I might try adding a little more space between the ornaments. It will have a slightly different look, but you may light it better! Have you seen this ornament mobile that was on Not Martha? http://www.notmartha.org/archives/2010/12/20/christmas-tree-ornament-mobile/

      • November 30, 2011 9:04 pm

        Those ornament mobiles are amazing! Maybe something with a little more space would look better… I don’t think my strategy of “use as many ornaments as possible so the light fixture is mostly obscures” was as effective as I’d hoped!

  3. December 4, 2011 3:15 pm

    I really like the way you made it work with the ceiling fan! We don’t have any chandeliers either and I would have probably been like you, try and use many ornaments to obscure the fixture.

Trackbacks

  1. It’s an Ornament Trifle! « Squirrels and Pearls
  2. Happy Friday with a Soundtrack– Tree Trimming Edition « Squirrels and Pearls
  3. Ornament Decoration Redux: Wreath Edition « Squirrels and Pearls

Leave a Reply

