Skip to content

Any way you frame it

October 4, 2011

So, I’ve been talking about this gallery wall project I’ve been wanting to do for a while now.  I have a ton of amazing old family pictures that I want to have displayed in our home (101 in 1001 goal #62), and when we were visiting D’s mom over the summer, she gave me some of her family and baby D to scan and use as well.  I have been so excited, because to me it doesn’t really feel like home without family photos out on display… we had a gallery-ish wall in our house growing up that I loved to look at, and I miss it.

But, I kept hitting road blocks.  I needed to buy all of these frames!  Oh, no wait, I should scan the pictures first and pick which ones we wanted, and then buy frames.  Oh no wait, I can’t afford to buy a zillion new frames.

Finally, on Sunday I realized how many frames I had sitting around the apartment.  Some of them weren’t in amazing shape, and they certainly didn’t match.  But, I started messing around with layouts on the floor of our bedroom and I realized, that as Stacy and Clinton say, “It doesn’t match, but it goes.”  Indeed, I decided my hodgepodge mix of black, brown, and gold frames would work out just fine…. and if we decide it bugs us later, that’s why there’s spray paint, right?

As for finding a layout, I tried the Young House Love method of tracing the frames onto paper and hanging them on the wall, but it was too tedious for me.  I opted to come up with a layout on the bedroom carpet.  I chose to have frames that went above and below a center line, like this one I saw on Pinterest.

First, please note that most of the photos in the frames in the photos below are NOT the ones I am planning on using, they just happen to be the pictures currently residing in those frames.

I taped off the 2″ wide “Line of Demarcation” on the wall (and skipped taking a picture, so pretend those frames aren’t already there!)

then went to town hanging up frames above and below it based on the layout I had on the bedroom floor.  All of the pictures are spaced 2″ apart from one another, just to try and keep the lines clean.

Here is the current progress… I still need to hang frames on the top of the center lines on the right and left sides.  I need to get one more IKEA frame for one side, and need to add new hanging fixtures to an old frame for the other side.

Would you like to see some of the awesome photo highlights?  Of course you would!

These are some of the photos that will definitely be making the cut (but may scanned, re-sized and put into different frames)

My parents’ wedding photo– so deliciously 70’s

My mom’s baby picture.  Adorable.

My Grandmother’s college graduation photo.  Wasn’t she beautiful?  That hair! I die!

And finally, the shadowbox I made of our wedding invitations, our Terrapin cake toppers, and photos.  It didn’t work anywhere else in the apartment, so why not on this wall?

My next steps are getting all of my photos scanned onto a CD/DVD so I can order new prints in the sizes I need.  Does anyone have any recommendations on the best place to get photos scanned for you?  Our scanner is not high-res enough to do the job.

After that, on to matting!  My awesome mother-in-law has a mat cutter she is going to let me borrow so I can get all of these to fit into the frames I already have.  Hooray for not having to pay for custom framing and matting!

Have you tackled any projects lately?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Julia permalink
    October 4, 2011 7:42 pm

    Looks awesome! Can’t wait to see it in person 🙂

    • October 5, 2011 11:03 am

      Thanks, Jules! I can’t wait for you to see it in person either… because you are COMING TO TOWN SOON , which I keep forgetting and then when I remember it’s like a delightful surprise!

Leave a Reply

