Skip to content

I love Lamp(Shades)

September 7, 2011

Our new apartment doesn’t have much built-in lighting, so when we moved in, buying new lamps was high on the agenda so we weren’t stuck sitting in the dark.

Additionally, 2 of our lampshades from table lamps got pretty destroyed in the move (they were already on their last legs), so D and I headed out in search of lamps and lamp shades, and I discovered that finding lighting is harder than I thought.

But we did luck out and found some amazing lampshades at World Market that I LOVE.  Like, everytime I look at them, they made me smile.  I didn’t know I could have such love for a lampshade.  Behold:

Aren’t they awesome?

Now I am hunting for lampshades for the lamp in my sun room and the lamps in our bedrooms, and it is proving much more difficult than anticipated.  Anyone have great ideas about where to find awesome lampshades that are not super expensive?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Julia permalink
    September 7, 2011 11:42 am

    I hear there’s this great Swedish warehouse store…

    But seriously, if the bones of the lampshades in the other rooms are still good, why not try to DIY something awesome? I’m betting you could get some guidance here: http://pinterest.com/search/?q=diy+lampshade

    I imagine something like this (even with the same cheery yellow fabric!) in your sunroom: http://www.younghouselove.com/2009/09/nursery-update-keep-it-light/

    Oh, and love love love the WM ones! I’ve found some really great pieces there before and am currently swooning over this lamp: http://www.worldmarket.com/product/index.jsp?productId=11652075

    • September 7, 2011 11:57 am

      IKEA lampshades are often totally crazy looking, but D and I are overdue for a trip to the blue box, so we can check out lampshades in addition to looking longingly and wondering why we can’t afford any of the following: the couch we want, headboards, frames for the gallery wall, floating shelves, etc.

      The bones of the lampshades we need to replace are broken beyond repair. I have tried several types of glue to no avail, one of them is ripped, 2 of them are stained… I think I would at least need to buy new basic shades if I were going to cover them with fabric.

      But I LOVE the WM lamp base! Beautiful!

  2. September 12, 2011 10:38 am

    Live, sweat, breathe HomeGoods. Seriously get on that. You may have to go multiple times until they get something in you like, but they have great deals on lamps. Also, you may get lucky and find some good shades (alternatively, you can buy a cheap white shade from, like, walmart and cover with fabric or ribbon or what-have-you).

Leave a Reply

