Skip to content

RIP Herb Garden

September 6, 2011

So, maybe you all remember how excited I was about my herb garden way back in June because it was another goal on my 101 in 1001?

Well, as I predicted, I have managed to kill it and I don’t know what happened.  I was watering it every day, they sprouted, they were growing, and then they just stopped.   They were about 2″ high, and then they just stopped growing for 2 weeks.

And then I was frustrated with the stupid herb garden, so I stopped watering it.  Serves it right for not growing, right?

So, now my herb garden looks like this:

Epic Herb Garden Fail.  I guess it’s back to buying expensive grocery store herbs for me! (or we’ll break out our Aerogarden again)

Have you ever just failed at a project like this?  Do you have any idea why my herb garden’s growth was stunted?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Jenn permalink
    September 6, 2011 11:03 am

    Bah, I’m so sorry. I know how frustrating this is. We lost our cilantro plant this summer. I know that plants need a lot of room to grow, so if the pots were small (like the same size as the starter containers) then they aren’t going to be able to sprout roots. Over watering, or lack of drainage (did you put rocks at the bottom of the pot?) will cause root rot. Another culprit might be your air conditioning. Were the plants under a vent? Cold air would have also caused premature death. Best of luck next time!!

    • September 6, 2011 11:13 am

      Jenn, I did none of the things you suggested, so I am sure that is why they were stunted. I think growing things is just not for me… We had better luck with our aerogarden, since you can’t really mess it up. Maybe I should go back to it.

  2. September 6, 2011 11:17 am

    The main problem I had when growing both basil and cilantro was fruit flies! They appeared and instantly were swarming both plants.

    One trick I learned to keep the plant alive was to water from the bottom, meaning place water in saucer and place plant on top, this doesn’t drown them.

  3. September 6, 2011 11:44 am

    I gave up on trying to grow herbs and vegetables from seed. They just won’t prosper. I have found that if I buy baby plants from the farmers market or home depot, they do much better. This year I had so much basil, I almost had to throw some away. I found cilantro usually dies around the end of June in our awful summers here in NC, Mint dies in late August, early Sept and Basil…well…as long as you get some heat during the day, it’s a happy clam. Definitely try starting it from plant next time. I promise it will be worth it.

  4. September 7, 2011 1:52 pm

    Ha, sadly no advice here because it’s one of my life goals to actually keep a plant alive. 😀 But you’re one step farther than me, in that you actually gave it a shot!

Trackbacks

  1. Angus says “Hello Again” « Squirrels and Pearls

Leave a Reply

