Skip to content

Project Time: Sweater Flair

July 12, 2011

A few weekends ago, when I was unpacking the last few things in my closet, I discovered a black cardigan sweater that I had completely forgotten about– in fact, I had purchased another almost identical sweater because I didn’t realize I already had a black 3/4 length sleeve cardigan already.  So, I decided that I needed to do something to jazz up this forgotten sweater so I didn’t just have 2 of the same thing.

Enter the bag of buttons that I keep around in my sewing kit.  These are all of the extra buttons that come with clothes when you buy them.  I have a TON, and I almost never use them.

So, I took them out and looked for some cool looking ones that went together.

Then I attempted to arrange them into a pattern on the sweater:

Then I sewed them up on the upper chest area of my found-again cardigan.

I like that it adds a touch of visual interest and a little bit of color to an otherwise plain sweater.  My original arrangement didn’t quite translate once my sewing started, so I might add another 1 or 2 buttons to give it a little more shape… what do you think?

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 4, 2011 5:17 pm

    great idea- looks good 🙂

Leave a Reply

