Skip to content

Happy Friday with a Soundtrack– Germination Edition

June 24, 2011
tags: ,

So, first– some exciting news!  I planted my window herb garden this past weekend (#55 on my 101 in 1001) and yesterday I came home to discover that there was SPROUTING!  (D then said, don’t you mean “germination”?– but I think sprouting sounds more festive).  I will soon have fresh, delicious herbs!  So far, I have planted 2 types of Basil, Parsley and Mint.  I am very excited and hope that I don’t kill them.  (I have killed a cactus before, so keep my poor germinating herbs in your thoughts.  And maybe comment every once and a while to make sure I have watered them).

I am also very excited by the response to my last post about my terrible lunch packing skills.  Several folks sent me recipes and tips, including Jules, who sent me a very helpful basic framework for making healthy grain-filled salads from her work’s blog.  So, I went through our fridge to see what I had handy, and pulled out some spinach, red onion, a green pepper, feta cheese, and some lentils and quinoa.  I cooked the lentils and quinoa, then mixed it with the spinach, feta, and the chopped veggies, added some thyme, garlic powder, and balsamic vinaigrette and now I have lunch for the next week!  It tastes delicious!

I’m so glad it’s Friday (and payday for me!).  I’m hoping to get some of our artwork hung up this weekend so the walls don’t look so bare, plus I get to spend time with some of my fabulous friends that I haven’t seen in a while.  And finally, my apartment complex is hosting a brunch on Sunday morning that we are going to with our neighbors Tom and Anna– and who doesn’t love free brunch?  (June is resident appreciation month, so there has been awesome stuff like this since we moved in.  I came home from work on Monday and was SO tired and there was “Iced Mocha Monday” happening in the lobby. Love.)

And for your Friday listening pleasure, here is You and I by Ingrid Michaelson.  (I’ve been working on learning this on my ukulele)

What are you all up to this weekend?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 25, 2011 11:31 am

    Love this song! It’s my favourite (and only) song I can play on the uke!

Trackbacks

  1. RIP Herb Garden « Squirrels and Pearls

Leave a Reply

