Skip to content

My lunch packing skills have diminished…

June 23, 2011

I basically haven’t had to worry about packing a lunch since I was in high school, and even then, I didn’t do it very often as I subsisted on a diet of Fruit punch flavored Fruitopia and hot pretzels from the cafeteria.  But, now I am commuting about an hour to work every day and can no longer run over to my apartment and make my lunch or go to the dining hall and use some of the meal plan points that were part of my compensation.  So, I need to pack my lunch.

Maybe I can pack a tea tin like Samantha and finally try a watercress sandwich!

Source— Did you know there is an American Girl Doll Wiki?!

I am discovering that I am hampered by numerous obstacles:

  1. I don’t like sandwiches.  The staple of the brown bag lunch is a simple sandwich, but that just does not cut it for me.  If I’m going to have a sandwich, it needs to be jazzed up with fresh veggies, or special sauces or something… and then it’s not a simple sandwich anymore
  2. I can’t plan ahead.  I am an excellent planner in most areas of my life, except apparently when it comes to the crucial aspects of how I am going to feed and clothe myself for the following day.  I become crippled with indecision and am a slave to my potential mood– as in “how can I pack a lunch for tomorrow when I don’t know what kind of food I am going to be in the mood for?!” or “How can I pick out my clothes the night before if I don’t know if I am going to be in a dress mood tomorrow?!”
  3. I am lacking some important hardware, namely a good lunch bag large enough to hold tupperware and some sodas and prevent spills and condensating all over the inside of my purse, plus now that both D and I are packing lunches, we need more tupperware like whoa
  4. I don’t really have any recipes for the kind of foods I would love to pack in my lunch, hot or cold pasta/grain/bean dishes with delicious sauces and fresh veggies… that is the wonderful ideal that I have in my head, but I don’t know how to find the recipes that match the idea in my head…

So, for all of you readers who have been packing lunches WAY longer than I have, can you share some brown bag pro tips?  Is there a lunch bag/box you would recommend?  What are some quick and easy recipes I can make to jazz up my lunch so it’s not just a plan ol’ sandwich?  And have any of you gotten past your “I don’t know what I’m in the mood for!” indecision?

Plus any thoughts on my current lunchbox front runner?  It has gotten good reviews on Amazon and seems to fit my criteria:

The Built Gourmet Getaway (seriously, that name is ridiculous) for $19.99

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Julia permalink
    June 23, 2011 9:18 pm

    Preparing to send you recipes – just set aside a few hours aside to make a couple grain/bean/veggie salads for the week, and you’re good to go!

  2. becky permalink
    June 27, 2011 9:00 pm

    Jules is right about the bean dishes. I will send you a recipe we love. Other ideas would be humour, crackers w fruits cheeses and veggies or w chicken/tuna salad. I have also like Greek yogurt filled w fruit or grandma.

Trackbacks

  1. Happy Friday with a Soundtrack– Germination Edition « Squirrels and Pearls

Leave a Reply

