Skip to content

I year: The best is yet to come

June 22, 2011

** I am several days late in posting this because I am a terrible blogger**

It is out 1 year anniversary on Sunday.  It is almost impossible to think that we have been married for a whole YEAR… and it is crazy to think about all of the things that have happened and all of the things that have changed in our first year as a Mr. and Mrs.

The first couple of months of marriage were blissfully awesome. I remember the day after the wedding driving up to Baldwin’s with Dan to drop off our final check and just saying “wow… our wedding was so awesome.” over and over.  When we had first picked our date, we had talked about celebrating anniversaries.  Our dating anniversary (for the past 9 years) had been November 1st.  D felt like that date had a lot of significance and that June 19th was just “a random date”, so he pushed to keep celebrating our anniversary on November 1st, like we always had.  But once we actually had the wedding, we both agreed that June 19th was now the anniversary of an epically awesome event and OF COURSE we would be celebrating it on our actual wedding anniversary.

But once we got out of those first few months, things got rough in a lot of ways.  D’s contract at his job was ending and he was super-stressed all the time about finding a new job, and work became unbearable for him.  I have a horrible time dealing with D being in a bad mood, so I was always in a bad mood.  And then, when his contract ended, we had a 3 month period of unemployment for D, which put strain on us financially, emotionally, and just about every other way you can imagine.  D and I were certainly no strangers to weathering tough times, so I was never worried that we weren’t going to make it through, which is certainly a nice level of confidence to have when the going gets tough.  However, emotionally straining experiences are still… emotionally straining.

But our year of marriage has certainly ended on a high note, which D in his new job, me getting my new job, and us taking a big step as a couple and moving to a new apartment off campus.  This will mark some firsts for us as a couple–it’s the first time I’ve ever had to actually commute to a job more than about 100 yards, and it is also the first time that we will have to really live within a strict budget and pay major, major bills (living rent-free on campus allowed us both a lot more leeway with our incomes).  Now that we are truly combining finances and living within the strict budget, it may mark the first times we’ll really have to say to each other “I don’t think you should buy that” or “that thing you want is really not within our budget”.  It could get interesting, especially since I HATE talking about money more than pretty much anything else in the world.

People say the first year of marriage is the hardest, but this is certainly not anywhere near the hardest year that D and I have endured as a couple, so I’m hopeful we’re off to a good start.  Did you find the first year of marriage to be particularly difficult?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 23, 2011 8:21 am

    Happy Anniversary (late) (not my fault). 🙂 I just popped back to your wedding recaps and saw you got married at Baldwin’s. When I was a kid, growing up in Sykesville, I thought I’d get married there one day. It was fun to read through your pictures and recaps!

    • June 23, 2011 1:05 pm

      Thank you for the anniversary wishes! It’s nice to hear from a fellow Sykesville native and I’m so glad you enjoyed my recaps. I popped over to your site as well and have been enjoying it (and hope to try your cous cous recipe soon)

  2. June 24, 2011 10:06 am

    June 19th is a fantastic day. Largely because it happens to be my birthday. You should be honored.

    • June 24, 2011 10:10 am

      Honored doesn’t even begin to cover it 🙂
      Happy belated birthday!

Leave a Reply

