Skip to content

New Haircut Ambivalence

May 10, 2011
tags:

So, after many rounds of “to chop or not to chop”, I took the plunge on Friday and got about 3-4″ cut off of my hair.  Supposedly, it is an angled cut and the front is longer, but it’s a pretty subtle angle, so you can’t really tell.

Of course, I am the WORST when it comes to giving direction to folks that do my hair… other than giving the proviso that I need to be able to put it up on a ponytail, my most helpful comments are usually really vague statements about wanting “something different” that “has some style but is easy to maintain”.  It doesn’t help that I do pretty much nothing with my hair… sometimes I use products, sometimes I blow dry it, but my hair doesn’t hold style very well, so usually it looks pretty much the same no matter what I do to it.

However, according to a lot of folks, you can barely tell I got it cut at all… so, I guess it’s not as dramatic of a change as I thought.

I’m still on the fence about whether or not the cut is an improvement, but either way, it’s a change and it’ll grow.

And because Jules has been bugging me to show her a picture of the new cut:  here’s the before:

And here is the after:

First, here is one I took this morning right after I blew my hair dry– volume! slight curl from round brushing! Use of 2 different hair products!  Yay!

And here is one taken when I got home from work.  Note that the volume and slight curl have vanished (they were pretty much gone by lunch… or possibly gone by the time I walked out the door for work).

D’s reaction to my new cut? “No, it looks nice.  I’m just glad you didn’t cut it any shorter.” I’m glad D’s complimenting skills are not a central component of my self-esteem, as he tends to start all of them with the word “no”, as in “no, I like it” and “no, it looks great”. Also, note his continued terror that I am going to chop it all off!

Are you constantly indecisive about making changes to your hair, or is it just me?  Also, does anyone have a product they can recommend that actually gives hair volume that lasts more than 30 seconds?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Julia permalink
    May 10, 2011 6:00 pm

    I LOVE IT! The shorter length seems to make your side part look deeper, which is really lovely with your face shape. I think you’ll appreciate having less hair as the MD humidity picks up.

    Or should I take a D approach…”No, it looks terrific!” 😉

Leave a Reply

