Skip to content

Project Time: “It smells like optimism!”

April 27, 2011

Greetings from the West Coast, everyone!  Jules and I have a very ambitious project that we are taking on while I am here and I am super excited about it!

We are going to build furniture!! (and I can potentially cross #40 of my 101 in 1001 of my list!)

We’ve decided to build a kitchen table and 2 benches for Jules’ adorable house in Pasadena.  We’re making a Modern Farm House Table and Modern Farmhouse Benches, both from Ana-White.

Modern Farmhouse Table and Benches 

So, yesterday we did all of our prep work, printing out the plans and getting our supplies in order.  We went to Lowe’s and got all of our wood (and sweet-talked a lovely employee named Fernando into doing A LOT of the cuts for our wood).  I’ve got to say, it’s a pretty fun feeling to be in a Hardware store buying lumber– we got lots of looks and several contractor-types asking us things like, “What are you girls doing in here?”.

We also picked up all stain for the table and benches– we are going with a lovely light grey color.  It should be gorgeous!!

And as we drove home with the back of the car stacked with wood, Jules said “I love the smell of fresh cut wood– it smells like optimism!”

Optimism indeed.  I’ll be updating you guys with pictures of our progress (once I find a cord to connect my camera to the computer!)!  Wish us luck!

One Comment leave one →
  1. geraldine permalink
    April 27, 2011 8:21 pm

    Yay! I love this project, and the smell of freshly-cut lumber. It always makes me think of summer and my dad, because that’s when he would embark on crazy projects. MORE PHOTOS PLS.

Leave a Reply

