Skip to content

Laughter and Love: Totally Awkward First Dances

March 21, 2011

Our first dance was to the song When you say nothing at all performed by Ronan Keating. This song was in the movie Notting Hill, which was a movie D and I watched when we first started dating (D really likes High Grant movies– feel free to mock him). This has always been “our song”.  It was one of the first wedding decisions we made– a total no brainer.

It’s amazing how you can see right to my heart

without saying a word,

you can light up the dark.

Try as I may, I can never explain,

What I hear when you don’t say a thing.

The smile on your face let’s me know that you need me,

there’s a truth in your eyes saying you’ll never leave me,

the touch of your hand says you’ll catch whenever I fall.

You say it best, when you say nothing at all.

What I was not prepared for was how awkward that dance was.  Both of us LOVE being the center of attention and I never shy away from being in front of a crowd (and have no problem looking ridiculous on the dance floor, as you will see)… but I think my first words after we started dancing were, “wow… this is just so awkward.”

I have been to other weddings where it seems like the whole world disappears for the bride and groom during their first dance.  Well, for me, the whole world was magnified into 100 people watching me and saying, “wow, she is really not a very good dancer, is she?”

I believe this is actually a picture of me saying "this is so awkward"

But D made me laugh, as always.

D and I didn’t take dance lessons before the wedding and we only ever “practiced” once (when I informed D that he should be prepared to do some turns and spins), and so we basically did a high school sway with some twirls and some dips.  And of course, I couldn’t resist getting into the dipping action:

One of my absolute favorites

After our dance, D took the floor with his mom to Joshua Radin’s version of Only You.

His mom, who is not particularly given to huge displays of emotion, bawled the whole time.

It was pretty adorable.

Since our wedding took place over father’s day weekend, we decided that we would also include a dance with me and my new father-in-law.  We danced to Louis Armstrong’s What a Wonderful World.

Now, unknown to me until that time, my father-in-law is quite the dancer.  He was pulling out all kinds of moves and spinning me every which way.

I had no idea what we were doing.  At all. As you can see on my face.

He said "Do you know how to do the pretzel?"

Me: "Umm, what? I know how to eat a pretzel... that's about it."

But, it was so fun.  And wearing a long dress and a smile can help hide the lack of dancing skills (I hope).

Up next: Totally Banana-Sandwich, ridiculously awesome reception dancing

All photos by the fabulous Valerie Usui

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 21, 2011 10:51 am

    I remember feeling like our first dance was a little awkward too. But then I kept thinking — HOLY CRAP we’re married!!

    I’ve got my fingers crossed that awkward t-rex dancing photos don’t make it into your reception dancing post. Eeeek!

    • March 21, 2011 12:43 pm

      I’m glad I’m not the only one who had awkward feelings. And I’ll do what I can to avoid T-rex arm pictures when I get to the dancing– but I love the T-Rex arms! It is the new dance craze sweeping the nation!

Leave a Reply

