Skip to content

If you invite them, they will come

March 9, 2011

So, back around the beginning of the year, I made a list of goals I had for myself.  Fun goals, serious goals, a little bit of everything.  One of the big things I wanted to get better about was spending more time with my great friends and entertaining in our apartment.  I haven’t made progress on all of my goals (I still need to make a visit to the poutine truck!), but this is one where I have made some leaps.

I used to hesitate to invite people over or initiate plans because I figured that people are already busy, they will have plans, they won’t want to come all the way out to our apartment.  But I am learning, this is not true.

If you invite people places, they will come.  Crazy, right?

So far this year, D and I have had 2 dinner parties at our place (and have been trying to schedule a 3rd)– which is excellent entertaining progress when you consider my previous total of dinner parties was zero.

I’ve also been better about seeing friends on a regular basis.  On Friday afternoon, D and I decided to meet at Lauriol Plaza (home of the swirly margarita!) for dinner that night.  On a whim, I E-mailed some friends that we were trying to get together with, and lo and behold, they didn’t have any Friday plans and we had a great dinner out.  And that’s just one example.

I hope that I can keep this up, because I am a much happier person when I get to see my friends and have awesome weekends on a regular basis.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

