Skip to content

Laughter and Love: The Toasts

March 7, 2011

After our Top Gun-tastic entrance, we moved right into the speeches.

This was one of my favorite parts of the day (Ok, I know I have a ton of favorite parts.  It’s just that so many parts were TOTALLY AWESOME!)

Best Man Stew did a phenomenal job with his toast.  Some of my favorite parts:

“I asked D a little while ago if he wanted me to do a speech at the reception. He said, “uh, I don’t know.  Let me ask Kelly and get back to you later today.”  That was 3 weeks ago and he never got back to me. I guess I shouldn’t have been surprised because, as I’m sure Kelly knows, it does take D a while to ask a simple important question.”

“Kelly and D have been a constant in my life.  I have known them for about 6 years now– I don’t have to be exact, I’m not married to him contrary to anything you may have heard– and they’ve been together for as long as I’ve known them in one form or another.  (But I promise this isn’t one big joke about how long they have been dating.)”

“As you can imagine, when you see two people who match each other so perfectly go through this committment, it’s hard to find words that are as perfect.”

Awww.  Look at that Man Love in that picture.

Next up was MOH (and loyal S&P reader) Jules, who I met during college in 2003 when we were on the same RA staff.  We have been pretty much inseparable since then (except for that whole continent-currently-separating-us part). I don’t have a copy of Jules’ speech, like I do Stew’s, but it was chock full of fabulousness.

I have no idea what I was cheering about in this photo.

She started sharing a little about how we met working in reslife (which got some very loud cheers from all of my reslifer-co-workers in attendance).  When we met, we were friendly, but it wasn’t until Julia’s birthday that year, when I took her out to a celebratory dinner and insisted she wear her birthday tiara for the occasion, that we discovered that we both kind of had girl crushes on each other.  From that day on, we were BFFs.

We learned during that time that we had a lot of things in common.  A love of singing Disney songs, having dance parties, and a love of many of the same clothes.  When we were RAs together, we lived 1 floor apart, and when one of us would come to the other’s room before going somehwhere, the door would often open to reveal that we were both wearing pretty much the same thing.  So, we had a deal that whenever this happened (which was a LOT), that the person whose room we were in would have to change. Continuing our “things we have in common” theme, she told a story about meeting D for the first time.  And she said she liked him so much that she decided to get one for herself, so her current boyfriend’s name is also D.  And she closed with some wonderful gushy stuff about how much she loves us.  Aww.

Love love love this picture

Next up: The dancing begins!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Julia permalink
    March 7, 2011 8:54 pm

    MOH FAIL! I can’t believe I don’t have a copy of the speech.

    Also, I believe that you were not cheering in the picture; instead, you may have been imitating an impromptu dance party in the halls of Easton.

Leave a Reply

