Skip to content

They say facebook is making us sadder.

March 1, 2011

So, I’ve read several articles about how Facebook and other social media leads to unhappiness (among other things, like increased narcissism, inability to communicate face-to-face, and decreased patience) and the rate of happiness in America (particularly among women) is steadily declining. People tend to put happy things on facebook to present a positive face, rather than a realistic face, to the virtual world (like my blog, which has primarily been lots about my super-awesome wedding, not so much about things I struggle with regularly, etc).

Others see that constant positivity on their social media venue of choice, and can’t help but compare themselves. Feeling that others are way happier than they are, and feeling like big flaming failures.  Because people don’t just want to be happy.  They want to WIN at happiness and be way happier than everyone else they know (I’m guilty of this too, often sometimes).

Well, can’t we all just agree that no one’s facebook or blog is an accurate portrayal of their real life?  No?

Well, in my attempt to contribute to the normalizing of social media happiness levels, I present a list of things that I am bad at/ make me sad/ I wish I could change about myself:

  • Student loans and credit card debt suck and are stressful to deal with. And knowing that the credit card debt part was completely my fault makes me feel ashamed.
  • I am the world’s worst procrastinator– about everything.  I should be doing work for my Grad class right now.  Instead, I am writing a blog post.
  • If left to my own devices, I am a horrible slob.  When D is out of town, the apartment is a wreck
  • I am 27 years old, and I still have no idea what I want to be when I grow up.  I need to start job searching, but I don’t know what I want to do next
  • I check the site stats on this blog WAY more than I should to see if people are reading my posts because I crave positive reinforcement and am not always as self assured as I like to pretend
  • My day-to-day life is pretty boring.  Most days it’s work, home, dinner, (often back to work for a while),TV, internet, bed.  Occasionally, I throw in some laundry. I need to do something to spice up my weekdays (and often my weekends)
  • I worry that I won’t be a good mom (in the distant future when D and I have kids).  I worry that maybe I am too selfish to be a good mom, or I won’t be able to do the work/kids/domestic diva balancing act that being a woman these days seems to require
  • I spend too much time watching TV. I could be so much more productive.

Does social media make you feel more unhappy, or do you compare yourself to your facebook friend and come away feeling worse for the wear?  Take heart that their life is probably pretty similar to yours.  Warts and all.

    No comments yet

    Leave a Reply

