Skip to content

The Bet: Week 1 Complete

February 16, 2011

So, here we are, a week into the bet.  So far, I say– success!

I have been working hard to stick with my calorie count given to me by my fitness pal.  With the exception of a delicious dinner party on Friday, where I made my famous beef and mushroom risotto (recipe to come soon!), and had some (OK, lots) of wine; as well as going out for BBQ with friends on Saturday, I have been under my allotted calories every day.

OK, you may be saying, “It’s been 7 days and you went off diet for 2 of them?!”, but I say, “Hey, I ate like total crap 7 days a week before this bet!  Splurging for 2 meals out of 21 is perfectly fine!” (plus the food was delicious, it was totally worth every extra calorie).

And you should all be proud of me.  Today, I said no to Tater Tots.  TATER TOTS!  I went to lunch, and really wanted the pulled pork sandwich they were serving.  I knew sandwich +tater tots would probably be WAY over my calories for the day.  But just the sandwich, while not the healthiest choice that was available– was totally do-able and darn tasty!  (And my side of raw broccoli dipped in hummus was also quite good.)

Tater Tots-- why are you so delicious looking even in a photo?

I have also been working out more.  I have been to the gym or gone running 3 times this week.  A vast improvement over the zero times I worked out for the last 2 months before this, but still not nearly to my goal of 5-6 days a week.  I want to get more regular in my running habits and find a good schedule for lifting weights as well, but it’ll get there.

I feel like I can be optimistic like this because I lost 3 lbs!  *does a little happy dance*

122 days and 17lbs to go!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 16, 2011 10:08 pm

    Just remember, nothing tastes as good as looking good feels.

  2. Julia permalink
    February 17, 2011 12:00 am

    Hooray! I’m going to the gym tomorrow 🙂

Leave a Reply

