Skip to content

How good does skinny feel?

February 15, 2011

I was out to dinner with some friends on Saturday night, and we got to chatting about dieting.  These (male and female) friends all happen to be in various phases of weight loss and dieting, like myself. As we were chatting, someone brought up the very (in)famous Kate Moss quote that caused quite a racket last year:

“Nothing tastes as good as skinny feels.”

We all shook out in different places when it came to how we felt about this quote, but as I embark on my new diet and exercise regimen, I thought is was worth reflecting where my mind is about this kind of thing.

Personally, I think MANY things taste way better than skinny feels: risotto, biscuits, bacon, D’s glazed ham, a bottle of wine… I could go on for a long time.

I don’t ever want to get to a place where I talk about the food that I eat in terms of being “bad” or “good”.  There is so much guilt associated with eating, dieting, counting calories, and being thin.  I don’t want to punish myself because I was “bad” this weekend and ate some (delicious) BBQ.  I don’t want to start thinking about all food only in terms of nutrition facts and how long it would take me to burn off calories at the gym.  I love food, I enjoy eating good food, and I would like it to stay that way.

So how do you find the balance here?  Clearly, I want to get into better shape, lose some weight, and have a healthier diet.  But, not at the expense of delicious tastes and the fun of eating good food.

What do you think?  Is Kate Moss right?  Does nothing taste as good as skinny feels (I don’t know that I have ever been skinny enough to actually have a valid opinion on this)?  Have you found a way to balance enjoying food and being healthy?

One Comment leave one →
  1. 007 permalink
    February 15, 2011 10:25 pm

    Skinny feels fine. Crab-stuffed bacon-wrapped shrimp feels better. Skinny and food lover are not mutually exclusive. I am a food lover now. I hope to be a skinnier food lover person in a little while. To be an unhappy skinny person craving food but not satisfying that craving isn’t living. It’s being trapped. Melodramatic? Maybe. There’s a Shel Silverstein poem I’m reminded of called Pie Problem:
    Pie Problem

    If I eat one more pie, i’ll DIE!
    If I can’t have one more piece of pie, i’ll DIE!
    so since it’s all decided I must have one more piece of pie.

    Mmmm-Oooh-MY!

    Chomp – Gulp – Bye.

Leave a Reply

