Skip to content

Laughter and Love: The Part where we get MARRIED

February 14, 2011

Happy Valentine’s day, everyone!  I figured since it’s the day to say “I love you” to people you love, posting our ceremony was only appropriate.

Our marriage ceremony was simple, but very meaningful to us both.  Our officiant was able to help us write a traditional ceremony, that still reflected what was important to us as a couple.

Our good friend A did one of our readings, which was a love letter written by President Regan to his wife, Nancy, which I know may sound like a strange choice for a wedding reading, but it’s so sweet:

Dear First Lady

This is the day, the day that marks 31 years of such happiness as comes to few men.  I told you once that it was like an adolescent’s dream of what marriage should be like.  That hasn’t changed.

You know I love the ranch but these last two days made it plain I only love it when you are there.  Come to think of it that’s true of every place & every time.  When you aren’t there I’m no place, just lost in time & space.

I more than love you, I’m not whole without you.  You are life itself to me.  When you are gone I’m waiting for you to return so I can start living again.

Happy Anniversary & thank you for 31 wonderful years.

I love you

Your Grateful Husband

My wonderful friend G did our second reading, which was from House of Stone by Carmen Bugan:

In the village where I was born, we wish
A house of stone to shelter the heart of the marriage
So here too, I wish you
Obstinate, strong love, unyielding and unending.
May you be in reach of each other when all seems lost,
May your tears and your smiles happen always face to face.
When you imagine that you have shared everything
May you know that you still have the rest of your lives
To do all of it again and again.
But now listen to the hurry of bells and
Look how petals of roses about the vineyard
Bring you the words husband and wife:
First words in your house of stone.

I believe this is when Our officiant was reading one of my favorite passages from our ceremony:

“Above all, bring humor to this commitment that you are about to make to one another. Laughter isthe heart at play. Humor can enliven the good days and pull you through the rough ones. When youlook back at the sounds of your marriage, let it be laughter that echoes through all your memories.”

This is D’s “Oh my god, we’re MARRIED!” smile!

This was my “oh my god, we’re married!” smile.

“I now pronounce you husband and wife.  You may kiss one another.”

Walking up the aisle with my husband to the Proclaimers “I’m gonna be (500 miles)”

The only way it could have been better is if we could have somehow gotten everyone to sing the chorus.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

