Skip to content

The Bet: the first days

February 10, 2011

So, I’m now in day 2 of the bet.  How is it going, you ask?

When it comes to me and weight, I have some pros and cons on my side.  One, I am really tall, so when I gain weight, you can’t really tell for a while, which is a pro.  However, it becomes a con when losing weight starts, because I will probably lose 10+ pounds before it becomes even marginally noticeable to anyone, including myself.  When it comes to cutting back on calories, I have a hard time because I am just mentally averse to dieting or watching what I eat in any way, so I need to really want it and focus on it to be successful.  On the other hand, I eat SO poorly on a regular basis, that any attempt at cutting calories tends to bring big results.

So, back to the last 2 days?

First, I downloaded this new App on my iPhone called “My Fitness Pal”, which was free (bonus!), and has a really easy to use interface to input food and calories.  Based on your current weight, level of activity, and weight loss goals, it sets a calorie goal for you each day.  It also incorporates workouts, giving you additional calories based on what you do.  My first day went really well, although being cut back to 1,250 calories a day is a rough transition.

I also went to the gym for the first time in a long time on Wednesday after work and again this morning.  And I remembered why I hate my gym so much.  I HATE treadmills.  I love to run, but I can’t deal with treadmills.  But choosing between the hated treadmill surrounded by tan-orexic sorority girls, versus running around in freezing, gloomy, and gross weather– that’s a tough call.  But, honestly, even when I was training for the marathon and doing 15 miles runs, 3 miles on the treadmill was torture.  Luckily, it looks like the weather is warming up, so hopefully, there is some trail running in the near future.  Or maybe D and I will start up P90X again– I can’t imagine the shape I would be in if I was P90X-ing AND actually eating well!

So far today, I have had a clif bar and some yogurt for breakfast, leftover Shrimp Pasta Deliciousness for lunch, and on deck for tonight is some fabulous slow-cooker red beans and rice from our cooking light cookbook (it’s cooking away in the kitchen right now and smells SO good).

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

