Skip to content

Laughter and Love: The Music part 1

January 18, 2011

So, when it came to planning our wedding music, I knew this was an area that D was going to want to get involved in.  I like music and I LOVE to dance, but music is not nearly as profoundly meaningful to me as it is to D.  He would have opinions on these things.

One of the easiest choices for us was our first dance song, which was When you Say Nothing at All performed by Ronan Keating.  This version of this song was featured in the movie Notting Hill, a movie that D and I both like and watched together as Freshman when we began dating.  It is the only song that has ever been “our song”.

Figuring out the other songs was more difficult.  First– who knew you needed to pick so much damn music?  Prelude, processional, recessional, entrance music, parent dances, cake cutting song, bouquet toss, garter toss– an overwhelming number of choices.

Dan picked out all of our prelude music, which was mostly indie-ish songs that he loved and some more pop-y stuff.  The list is below for your enjoyment (and as a side note, I thought I knew which songs D had put on the CD of prelude music, but after replaying to make this song list, I realize that I didn’t realize half the songs he had picked and some of them seem like hilarious choices for a wedding):

-Beautiful World by Colin Hay, Planets by Kate Rusby, The Way I Am, Ingrid Michaelson, Question by the Old 97s,  Home by Michael Buble, You Belong to Me performed by Jason Wade, Paperweight by Joshua Radin and Schuyler Fisk, All We Are by Matt Nathanson, Brand New Day by Joshua Radin, The Chain by Ingrid Michaelson, Halfacre by Hem, Village Green Preservation Society by Kate Rusby, Someday by No More Kings, Hey Julie by Fountains of Wayne, Another Day by Danielle ate the Sandwich, and Collide by Howie Day.

D said that processional songs were totally up to me, as I was going to be the one processing.  The only thing we both agreed on was NO Cannon in D.  I thought about doing Ave Maria, which was my Mom’s favorite (and I found an awesome ukulele version by Jake Shimabukuro), but I decided that I was going to have enough trouble not ugly-crying all the way down the aisle, I didn’t need to add to the emotion of the day).

Me, walking down the aisle, attempting to stop the impending ugly cry

I ended up choosing the Cat Power version of Sea of Love for the bridesmaids processional.

And for my processional, I chose Ingrid Michaelson’s version of Can’t help falling in love with you.  I was in the car one day driving somewhere and was listening to songs on my ipod, and that song came on, and I just suddenly thought that it was the perfect fit.

Then, for the ceremony, the only other song we needed to figure out was our recessional.  I knew I wanted something happy, maybe a little funny.  Something very us.  And we found it.  I freaking LOVE this song.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2011 2:12 pm

    Have never heard that version of Can’t Help Falling In Love W/ You… it’s BEAUTIFUL! Awesome choice!

    • January 22, 2011 8:38 am

      I LOVE it! Now every time I hear it, I tear up a little.

Leave a Reply

