Skip to content

Laughter and Love: Yes, I would love a mimosa

January 2, 2011

I slept really well the night before my wedding.  I am prone to bouts of insomnia, so I was worried I would be up making lists and not be able to sleep, but I drifted right off.  I woke up the next morning at 8AM or so, with plenty of time before I had to be anywhere or do anything.

I went downstairs — the house was quiet and I had a few minutes of peace to drink in the fact that it was my WEDDING DAY!  A few minutes later, Ms. H came down and started making some delicious breakfast, then one by one, my lovely bridal party came downstairs.  It was go time– time to make centerpieces and bouquets and finish all the last minute items on the agenda.

We went outside with all of the flower supplies and started crafting the watering can and sunflower centerpieces.  My bridesmaids are all artistic and their flower arranging looked lovely and artsy.  Mine looked like a blindfolded person had shoved some flowers in the vicinity of a watering can.

A pretty looking centerpiece, which means it was made by bridesmaids and not by me, the bride that cannot arrange flowers

My MOH looked at my face and said (because she is awesome), “You are getting frustrated.  Go inside and hang out.  We’ll take care of this.”  I tried to protest that I should help, but I was informed I was the bride and should go relax.

I went inside and told Ms. H that I got kicked out of floral arranging.  She uttered the magical words, “OK, well, would you like a mimosa?”  And I said, “Yes, I would love a mimosa.”

Yes, I would love a mimosa

It was a good choice.  I sipped my mimosa, Ms. H’s cat came and sat on my lap, and I just chilled out.  It was lovely.  I highly recommend chilling out with a cat and a drink the morning of your wedding.

I am so thankful to all of my bridal party for being so accommodating and keeping me so relaxed.  There was really not a moment of stress the whole day.  Not even when I was grabbing a shower and making a mental checklist of all the things I needed to bring to the salon: flower hair pins, lipstick for the make-up person, pictures of hair styles I liked, and my veil…. which was still hanging in my closet in our apartment an hour away.

I don't think that's how you are supposed to wear that...

 

I went downstairs where flowers were being arranged and said, “Hey, you know how we said we would forget something?  Well, I remembered what it was!  My veil!  Oh well.”  And my sister jumped up and said, “Give me your keys!  I’ll go get it!”  She hopped in her car, drove an hour to my apartment, grabbed the veil and drove back.  No complaints, no bitching– I would have been OK going veil-less, but my sis came to the rescue.

 

My sister, saver of the veil!

 

Jule's mom, my fairy-god-seamstress, getting down at the reception

Suddenly it was time to go to the salon and get pretty, then back to the house to put on my dress (the lining of which was magically sewn and fixed by Jules’ mom while I was at the salon).  My DOC, Lynnecia arrived and set to work finishing bouquets with Jules.  Our photog, Valerie, arrived and started snapping away.  It was happening!  It was time to get married!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Holly permalink
    January 3, 2011 11:09 pm

    What a horrible picture of me! Oh well. At least I’m smiling.

  2. January 5, 2011 2:12 pm

    Hi,
    I am writing a book called “So…How Did You Meet Anyway?” It is a collection of people’s “how we met” stories.
    I have posted the stories which have been sent in on;
    So…How Did You Meet Anyway?
    http://wwwsohowdidyoumeet.blogspot.com/
    I am always shopping for stories and I would like to add yours. Please check out the site, and if you would like to contribute your “how we met” story contact me at;
    susan.amestoy@gmail.com
    If I am writing to you a second time, it’s only because I really want your story:)
    Happy New Year and…congratulations!
    Susan

Trackbacks

  1. Laughter and Love: Flower Arranging and Hot Glue burns | Squirrels and Pearls

Leave a Reply

