Skip to content

Thinking ahead to 2011– what do I want to try?

December 18, 2010

Like so many other blogs that I read, I am going to jump on the Reverb10 prompt bandwagon.  These are questions to make you think about the past year and how you want to change in the year to come.  2010 was a pretty awesome year for me, but there are certainly some things I hope try in 2011.

Reverb10 prompt: What do you want to try next year? Is there something you wanted to try in 2010? What happened when you did / didn’t go for it?

One of the goals I have for 2011 is to run the Marine Corps Marathon with D.  I ran my first marathon (the MCM) in 2009.  I decided I wanted to run a marathon, and I trained for it by myself, which was amazingly hard, but I did it.  I didn’t get the best time, I slacked off in my training sometimes, and I did lots of math in my head while I ran to distract from the boredom and the pain.  In many ways, my marathon was a solo endeavor, but in so many other ways, there was a group that got me through it.  I had so many wonderful friends and family members who came out to support me, including J, who cooked me a fabulous pre- marathon dinner; Jules, who flew out from CA to surprise me; my sister and neice; friends from work who got up at the crack of dawn to see and cheer for me; and of course, D.

Me with my finishers medal after the 2009 MCM

Not only did D support me as I trained– guilting me into going for a training run when I was tired, bringing me ice packs to put on my poor knees after a long run, but also, running/walking the last 8 miles of the race with me when I hit the wall and thought I wasn’t going to make it and just wanted to lay on the side of the road and pass out.  (I make marathon running sound like so much fun, right?  Don’t you want to go try it?)

D and I both signed up for the 2010 MCM, along with friend J and her husband.  Somehow, with both J and I planning weddings, working full time jobs, me taking Masters classes, the whole training thing never really happened.  In the first part of 2010, D and I were healthy and in shape.  We were working out (with P90X) everyday, we were eating right, and I felt so healthy and energetic.  Then, the wedding hit and we have both been lazy since– not working out, not running, not eating well.  And it feels like crap.  J’s husband trained for,  ran, and finished the marathon this year, but D, J and I did not.

J and I were at the finish line to watch him cross, and it was just so emotional.   If you have never been a spectator at a marathon before, you should go.  It is the most amazing, affirming, motivating thing in the world.  You see all the blood, sweat and tears that have gone into peoples’ training.  You see couples and best friends crossing the finish line holding hands.  You see strangers reaching out to help and support other racers so they can finish.  There are thousands of people yelling and cheering.  There are thousands of Marines and servicemen lending support as you finish right next to the Iwo Jima Memorial.  There just aren’t words to convey the hugeness of how it feels.

Watching the finish line, I was crying and thinking to myself, “I have to do this again.  And I want to do this with D.”

A marathon is certainly not the most important thing in the world.  It is not curing cancer or fighting poverty.  But it is special.  It is a testament to commitment and strength.  And to know that your body and your mind can carry you that far, it feels pretty amazing, you feel like you can do anything.

So, next year, on October 30th, 2011, I hope that D and I will be crossing the finish line together at the Marine Corps Marathon.  My first marathon was about me.  I wanted to see if I could push myself that far.  And if it had just been me, I probably wouldn’t have made it (because I was woefully under-trained).  But, having D and all of my amazing friends there for me helped me to push beyond my breaking point.

I want D and I to take this on.    Push each other to accomplish a goal that we set our mind to, and support each other when we’re hurting.  Train together for long hours and not kill each other.  Push ourselves and push each other to be healthier, stronger people.

What do you want to try in 2011?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 19, 2010 8:28 pm

    You make me want to blog again! Also, can we hang out once we make our returns to DC?

    • December 19, 2010 8:46 pm

      We definitely need to hang out when we get back. We’re back on the 27th. You?

      • December 29, 2010 2:00 pm

        We got back on the 27th too! So, yeah, we’re here. I travel 1/3-1/8 and 1/18-1/22 but otherwise, let’s please hang out soon!

Leave a Reply

