Skip to content

Laughter and Love: Our Rehearsal- Very Ole!

December 15, 2010

When D and I decided on Baldwin’s as a wedding location, I was lucky enough to have dear, dear family friends and former neighbors offer to host our rehearsal dinner at their house (and have the bridal party spend the night and get ready there).  The H family have been close friends of my family for as long as I can remember and I spent a lot of holidays at their house growing up.  Since my mom died, Ms. H has been kind of a surrogate mom for me, and so I was so excited to get to have her involved so much in the wedding.

 

Ms H and I the day of the wedding. Doesn't she look fabulous?

You should also know that Ms. H throws one hell of a party.  Since D said no to my previous “Mexican food and Karaoke” wedding, I decided we should have Mexican and Margaritas at the rehearsal dinner.  And since we couldn’t rehearse at Baldwin’s (trying to rehearse on a Friday night during dinner service might have been a little… crowded), we had our actual rehearsal at Ms. H’s too.

So, after arriving late to the house, me and the Bridesmaids hurried to get ready.  I was super excited to wear my rehearsal dress which I got (on sale!) at Anthropologie.  It has turtles on it!  Could it be any more perfect?

As we got ready (and Bridesmaid J applies by eye makeup because I seem to be physically incapable of putting on eyeliner correctly), the smells of delicious homemade food drifted upstairs.  And then the phone began to ring with various members of the wedding party calling to say they would be late due to horrific traffic.  To all brides: just plan on everyone being late to the rehearsal– I have yet to attend a rehearsal that started remotely on time.

So, when folks finally arrived, we attempted to start, but none of us really knew what we were doing.  Luckily, we had our officiant, Rev. Debby, and our fabulous DOC on hand to help us figure everything out.  And now, our rehearsal in pictures (but sorry, no pictures of the delicious food.)

Rehearsing is hard work. Especially when no one knows the shape of the space where you're getting married

D and I said a few words to our wedding party and family. And possibly cried.

We gave out our Attendant Gifts. And out readers got these AMAZING CARDS (which I gleefully overpaid for at Paper-Source)

MOH group hug after receiving her attendant gift

We did a test drive of the faux-to booth set up

Our rehearsal and dinner were very low key and fun.  It was so nice to not have to worry about traveling from one location to the other, and to be able to keep it small– we had less than 20 people there.  It was wonderful to be able to have time set aside to thank all of the wonderful people who had been with us in our life and were such a big part of our wedding.

So, the boys and the parents headed back to home/hotels, and the Bridal party got to work on some centerpiece making!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

