Skip to content

Holiday Traditions: We’re going to have the Hap-Hap-Happiest Christmas since Bing Crosby danced with Danny-f*ckin’-Kay!

December 14, 2010

It’s SO hard for me to believe we are already so close to Christmas… but the holiday season is in full swing and D and I are trying to cram in all of our holiday traditions, as well as creating new ones.  (and I haven’t even started my Christmas shopping yet– ugh).

– Decorating our apartment: This is something that both D and I enjoy a lot.  I was always the one in my family who put up the Christmas Decorations each year (my mom and sister often protested putting up a tree, but I did it anyway).  D’s mom is like Martha Stewart, only much nicer and without a prison record.  Her house is always immaculately decorated for the season.  We always put up a (artificial and pre-lit) tree.  Plus last year, we hosted D’s Dad for Christmas, so we upgraded our decor a little bit, and now have some garland lining our bookcases and some tables in the apartment.

 

Our Tree all dressed up for last Christmas

-Advent Calendars: This was always a HUGE traditon in my family.  Every year my sister and I each got a paper advent calendar and I loved getting to open the little “window” for each day.  Now, I find it absurdly hard to find paper advent calendars, so I found a stocking with a day countdown instead.  I get a ridiculous amount of joy out of moving the little star marker every day.

My Advent Calendar Stocking (on the left)

-The National Christmas Tree:  D and I have gone to the National Christmas Tree every year since our sophomore year of college (making this year number 9, I think?).  Last year, it was after we made the trip to see the tree that D finally popped the question!  I hope this is a tradition we will always continue, since it now holds even more significance for both of us.  Even though the National Tree tends to be decorated with really ugly lights and decor, I love the individual state trees and the Yule Log that is always burning and keeps me warm when it’s freezing outside!

D and I at the National Christmas Tree in 2008- and yes, we DO have the same jacket in different colors. I know...

-Holiday movies: Each family has its own movies that hold holiday significance– luckily for D and I, both of our families loved the same one– National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation.  D’s family LOVES this movie and D and his Step-Dad quote it all the time to each other.  My family watched this all the time– when my mom was in the hospital she would ask me to bring this movie because it always made her laugh– even in July.  A movie so full of classic lines, I don’t even know which ones to put down here.  Also, a squirrel makes an appearance!

 

The Ornament we have on our tree that came with our own DVD

 

I’m really looking forward to establishing new holiday traditions for our new family, as well as honoring the traditions we each had before.  I am hoping that Christmas Eve Bingo, a family tradition on D’s mom’s side, will be one we will incorporate for years to come (and ps– I am running X-mas eve bingo this year at D’s mom’s!).  I also want us to do Christmas morning brunch, which was always something that my family hosted for our family each year.

Though the holidays are stressful, I really do love them a lot.  What are some of your favorite holiday traditions?

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jennifer permalink
    December 14, 2010 4:02 pm

    The only present we were ever allowed to open on Christmas Eve was our new Christmas pajamas…everyone in the family gets new pajamas no matter how old you are…I already have my baby’s first pair under the tree.

    You also get one new ornament every year. It’s always fun to reminice with each ornament when you put the tree up…as you remember who’s each is and what makes it special to that person and the story behind them.

    And, of course, there is always “Christmas Gift”, which if you haven’t heard of yet from D’s family, I’m sure you will. On Christmas day as you are making your calls to family the person who says “Christmas Gift” first has to buy the person on the other end of the phone a present…not as much fun since the invention of Caller ID…and being from such a stubborn family, it all comes down to who cracks first and calls…LOL

Leave a Reply

