Skip to content

Laughter and Love: The weddings that weren’t

December 6, 2010

Before I reached my wedding planning epiphany, I had done some mad googling and brainstorming about ideas for our wedding.  They were all promptly either shot down by D or I laughed hysterically when I saw the price of the venues.  So, I present to you The weddings that weren’t:

Idea #1: Local Mexican Restaurant (Chevy’s), Karaoke, and Salsa Dancing!!

 

This photo really has nothing to do with this post. But that girl is wearing a *tiny* sombrero. Hilarious.

So, this one was my idea– D and I LOVE Mexican food (though I am the only one who loves the karaoke and salsa dancing part).  And we love each other.  Winning combo, right?

Not so much.  Dan said, “You’re kidding, right?”  Saw on my face that I was not totally kidding.  The said, “That is so tacky.  We can’t seriously do that.”   So, sadly it wasn’t to be.  (But I got my way a little bit, seeing as our awesome rehearsal dinner was Mexican food and Margaritas!  And I went Salsa Dancing for my bachelorette.  I win!)

Idea # 2:  Brookside Gardens

Sooooo pretty.....

I think I found this looks on theknot.com.  I saw the pretty pictures and basically went, “oooh.  So pretty!”  I thought, OK, maybe this would work!  It would be gorgeous!  Then I downloaded the rates brochure and saw the rental fee.  Just the RENTAL FEE would have been what I was hoping to spend on food!  And we would have had to get a caterer and rent all sorts of crazy things!  (This may have been the google that broke the camel’s back and led to the post-engagement freakout)

I am sure our wedding would have been absolutely gorgeous– but I am pretty sure I would have had to start turning tricks or something to pay for it.

Idea #3: A University of Maryland Wedding

A terp-tastic wedding?

D and I met during the first week of school our Freshman year.  We dated all throughout college.  We are Terps for Life!   We Fear the Turtle!  We *heart* UMD like whoa.  So, it had always seemed like a natural step for us to just get married at the campus chapel and have our reception at the beautiful Alumni Center.  But, it didn’t end up that way for several reasons: expense, location and accommodations for out-of-town guests, and the fact that the year before we got engaged, we attended the most beautiful wedding of our fellow terp-sweetheart friends at the UMD alumni center.  It was SUCH a fun wedding, and seriously was the most beautiful wedding I have ever been to.  We couldn’t top that.  We didn’t even want to try.

So, in the end, those were the weddings that weren’t meant to be.  All of them would have been beautiful (well, maybe not that first one), and all of them would have been fun.  But in the end, our wedding was beautiful, fun, not too expensive, not horribly tacky (by D’s definition anyway), and it was totally us.

OK, I’m off to go shopping for tiny hats now!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 7, 2010 8:49 am

    I swear, I paid attention to the whole post, I really did. But that chick in the tiny sombrero? I think she’s giving me the hairy eyeball. For reals. (And it’s not like I’m the one in the abnormally tiny hat!)

    • December 11, 2010 3:34 pm

      Yeah, she is kind of scary looking. But alas, there is not a huge selection of pictures of people wearing tiny sombreros to choose from!

  2. December 9, 2010 1:34 am

    Oh…if only we could throw a wedding a year…or not. You can always have themed parties to make up for the weddings that weren’t.

    • December 11, 2010 3:35 pm

      I do love a good theme party– as evidenced by the fact that I have thrown a luau every summer for the past 6 years. Extra points are awarded for those who come festively dressed.

  3. December 9, 2010 5:28 pm

    I LOVED brookside gardens when I went a few years ago for a work event. It was one of my first choices during our venue search… and then I saw the rates. 🙂

    • December 11, 2010 3:36 pm

      Yeah, those rates are crazy! And what if it rains? Then I would have spent a gazillion dollars for all that pretty, and we’d have ended up cramped in the reception hall.

Leave a Reply

