Skip to content

It’s Harry Potter Time!

November 18, 2010

In a little over 2 hours, I will be watching the newest Harry Potter movie!

Harry Potter And The Deathly Hallows Movie Poster

Speaking of Harry Potter, if you haven’t watched A Very Potter Musical yet, you should (starring Darren Criss, the new guy from Glee!)

I am very excited, but I also know that I will undoubtedly not actually love the movie all that much.  Because I am a bundle of contradictions and a book elitist.  

I’m always of 2 minds when it comes to movies based on books that I love.  I am always excited for them movies.  I always go see the movies.  And my reaction to the movie always ranges somewhere from seething hatred (Hannibal, The Golden Compass, The Da Vinci Code) to meh (The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, the first 2-3 Harry Potter Movies, etc).  At best, a movie will usually get an “It was good, but the book is still SO much better” (Pride and Prejudice, Atonement, The Joy Luck Club, etc).

Then there is the separate category of bad movies based on bad/trashy/unimportant books I’ve read and liked (Twilight, The Other Boleyn Girl, Bridget Jones’ Diary) where I knew the movie would either be equally fluff-like or equally bad and enjoyable.

So why do I keep going to see all these movies when I KNOW I won’t actually like them as much as the book?  Anyone else have any book-turned-movie hates or loves?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

