Skip to content

“I worry about her hydration”

November 17, 2010

“I worry about her hydration.”

Last year, my supervisor came to one my staff meetings to seek performance feedback about me for my annual evaluation.  When pressed for constructive feedback or criticism, one of my staff members said, “I worry about her hydration levels.  She’s training for the marathon, does all that running, and only drinks Diet Dr. Pepper.”  This is when you know you’ve got a problem.

Also a sign of a problem?  On my honeymoon, I got a massage at the hotel’s spa.  My masseuse was working on my feet and doing some reflexology stuff or something and abruptly asked, “how much water do you drink each day?”  And I was like, “How could he know I never drink water?!  I was drinking cucumber water in the spa lounge when he came to get me for my appointment!  I totally looked like a water-drinking-normally-hydrated-person!”  Well, apparently, the reflex point on my foot that is connected to the kidneys was tense or something, indicating that I am a horribly dehydrated person.

So, there you have it folks.  I am apparently comprised of about 85% Diet Dr. Pepper and no water.   And it is hurting my kidneys and causing my staff members fear for my hydration levels.  Something’s got to give.   I need to get over my water issues.  I only like water when it is very cold.  I hate water when it tastes metallic or plastic-y.  I refuse to pay for bottled water (but am more than willing to pay for bottled soda).

Well, I’m trying to turn over a new leaf and drink some water like a normal person.  And what has helped so far?  I did a presentation at Georgetown University the other week  (one of my old staff members works there now and asked me to come in) and my gift for coming in and presenting was this:

Product: Travel Time Thermo Tumbler

I really like it.  It keeps water cold and doesn’t make it taste plastic-y.  Maybe this is the key to me not turning into a shriveled raisin?  Any other hydration suggestions?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. irina permalink
    November 18, 2010 12:02 am

    Yes!!! Get away from the Dr.Pepper. I like the reference to our staff meeting last year. All any of us could put on your evals (for improvement) was PLEASE DRINK WATER 🙂

  2. November 18, 2010 1:18 am

    One option is a stainless steel water bottle:

    http://www.kleankanteen.com/ is a good source, they have plenty of options (check amazon, the prices there are usually cheaper) No BPA to worry about with plastics, or odd flavoring in the water. Since its stainless steel it is durable and is easy to clean.

    If your concerned about the water temp, you could consider an insulated bottle from kleen kanteen.

    For the apartment there are sink/pitcher filters from PUR/Brita.

    Something like this depending on the faucet head type in the apartment since it just snaps on (not sure if it differs from those in the apartments on campus):

    http://www.purwater.com/pur-products/faucet-water-filter/3-stage-horizontal.html

    http://www.purwater.com/pur-products/faucet-water-filter/3-stage-vertical.html

    As for that diet Dr. pepper addiction:
    http://www.webmd.com/diet/news/20091102/diet-sodas-hard-on-the-kidneys

    Stick to iced teas (green/black) and juices (can be from concentrate, just dilute it more) that are self made to reduce sugar consumption while still providing other beverage alternatives to water.

    The overall goal is about 1.5 liters a day (pure water is ideal, but juices/tea/milk can substitute).

    You can try giving your water taste a twist by adding in some lemons/limes or mint leaves to make it more appealing.

    I hope this information has been helpful in your endeavor to keep yourself hydrated.

Leave a Reply

