Skip to content

Squirrels and Pearls is a weird name for a blog

November 17, 2010

Blogging– it’s diary writing for the 21st century, only it’s even more narcissistic because we hope that there are people out there who want to read, comment on, and care about our random musings.  Well, call me a narcissist then, because I’m putting my twenty-something just-married-life musings out onto the internet in the hopes of getting some motivation or catharsis from all this.

Why “squirrels and Pearls”?  Well, I have a strange obsession with squirrels– I have squirrel T-shirts, candle holders, figurines, etc.  The current header image (and pic below)  is of “Lester the effeminate squirrel”, a squirrel lawn ornament gifted to me by my BFF in college, who travels around the country with me (when I remember to take him) and gets his photo taken.   I also wanted to include a nod to my love of fashion, hence the “pearls”.  I don’t really wear a lot of pearls, per se, but it rhymed.  And I am a sucker for a good rhyme.

Lester and I in Santa Barbra

I had never really wanted to blog until I started reading a wedding blog when I was planning my own wedding.  It just seemed so awesome to be able to share that kind of experience with others.  Well, too late now since the wedding is over and done with, but I can share at my attempts to be a wife.  Currently, I don’t know how to cook very well, I’m not a fabulous cleaner, and due to my job working for a university’s resident life department, I currently live in a Residence Hall apartment with my husband, so I do what I can to make it seem more home-y and not like we are still 18 in a dorm room living on easy mac.

So, I’m working on being more domestic and “wife-like”, my husband (who will probably need a blog alias, right?) and I are trying to get back in shape after being lazy-asses post wedding, I’m (possibly) training for (another) marathon, and potentially trying to learn to knit (I almost went with “Squirrels and Purls”, but I figured if the whole knitting thing doesn’t pan out, it’d be an even dumber title than “Squirrels and Pearls”).

So join me, won’t you?  Read about my epic domestic failures and enjoy my over use of parenthesis and exclamation points!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Holly permalink
    January 3, 2011 11:02 pm

    Love it! It’s as if you were talking to me!

Leave a Reply

