Skip to content

For the love of stationary

November 17, 2010

I have a crazy and possibly unhealthy (and certainly expensive) love of paper products. I have a box full of stationary, thank you notes, and cards. I have a box of leftover Christmas cards. And getting married left me with stamps, embossing powder, card stock, envelope liner templates and a host of other random things (the employees at Paper-source saw me coming a mile away).

And now it’s Christmas time and I want to have photo holiday cards. Photo cards are something I usually strongly dislike, but I figure, since we just got married, this would be the year to do it. But we are not really the type of couple that would send out a card with a photo like this:

When we could send out a picture like this:

(please excuse the obviously draft form of this particular picture)

While I am sure that not everyone would find our particular brand of humor to be their cup of tea, it is a much more “us” kind of card.  I think I might need to do some actual photoshopping and order them.

But this is the part that always gets me into trouble, since I also want to order new return address labels with our last name on them.  And I want to get pretty holiday mailing labels.   And I want to buy new, fabulous Christmas cards for the more traditional members of our family who may not appreciate rock star horns on their Christmas card.  But none of that is very frugal, which is one of my goals for this year.

What are you doing for your holiday cards?  Do you also have an unhealthy obsession with paper goods?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Amber permalink
    November 17, 2010 10:05 pm

    I desperately, desperately need that card. Please make this happen.

    • November 17, 2010 10:12 pm

      Just ordered them– I don’t know that I have ever been this excited for a Christmas card before.

  2. Jennifer permalink
    November 18, 2010 8:21 am

    I absolutely have an unhealthy obsession with paper…I hide behind my occupation of a graphic designer to get away with it. Our garage is full of paper stocks, card stocks, paper sample books, magnet paper, static cling paper, all different sizes and textures of envelopes…I could go on and on! And yet, I am ordering Christmas cards…

    • November 18, 2010 1:23 pm

      Oooh, crafting and papergoods heaven! I just want to come hang out in your garage now!

Trackbacks

  1. Awesomely awesome (and squirrelly): The only way to describe my Christmas gifts | Squirrels and Pearls
  2. Happy Friday with a Soundtrack: Jason-Mraz’s-Hair-Edition « Squirrels and Pearls

Leave a Reply

